RCB Women wins its Maiden Title across all leagues

RCB Women wins title

On 17th March 2024, RCB claims its maiden title across all leagues by defeating DC in the finals to emerge as the WPL 2024 winner.

The women’s team have fulfilled the long-awaited desire of the Royal Challengers Bangalore franchise by triumphing over Delhi Capitals with an 8-wicket win at Arun Jaitley Stadium.

After RCB wins its maiden title in the Women’s Premier League, the focus shifts towards the men’s cricket team. It is because the Royal Challengers Bangalore have been into the Indian Premier League finals three times in the years 2009, 2011 and 2016. They are still trying to lift their maiden IPL trophy.

It would be interesting to know how RCB became the WPL 2024 winner and succeeded in breaking years of jinx. Furthermore, the WPL 2024 winner list of Orange cap, Purple cap, the Most Valuable Player (MVP) and other awards will be discussed in detail along with prize money.

How did RCB become the WPL 2024 winner?

The journey of Royal Challengers Bangalore to emerge as the WPL 2024 winner was challenging in the semi-finals against the former defending champions Mumbai Indians. Fortunately, the essential contribution from the bowlers helped RCB secure a thrilling 5-run win against the MI to qualify for the finals.

However, these bowlers of the Royal Challengers Bangalore exhibited aggression in the finals by restricting Delhi Capitals to a below-par score of 113-10 in 18.3 overs:

  • Shreyanka Patil: 12-4 in 3.3 overs
  • Sophie Molineux: 20-3 in 4 overs
  • Asha Sobhana: 14-2 in overs

Especially, the batting order collapsed after the dismissal of the opening batter Shafali Verma, who scored 44 runs from just 27 balls (including 2 fours and 3 sixes).

Chasing a target of 114 runs, RCB skipper Smriti Mandhana as an opener made a valuable contribution of 31 runs from 39 balls (including 3 fours). But, it was due to the steady performance of  Sophie Devine ( 32 runs from 27 balls- including 5 fours and 1 six) and Ellyse Perry (35 runs from 37 balls- including 4 fours) that helped their team reach the target in the final over with three balls remaining.

On the other hand, Delhi Capitals had to face their second consecutive loss in the finals of the Women’s Premier League.

WPL 2024 Winner and Runner-up Team Prize Money:

You would be excited to know the prize money of Winner and Runner-up of the WPL 2024 tournament:

TitleTeamPrize Money
WinnerRoyal Challengers Bangalore (RCB)INR 6 crores
Runner-UpDelhi Capitals (DC)INR 3 crores
Fair Play AwardRoyal Challengers Bangalore (RCB)INR 5 lakhs

WPL 2024 Winner List and Prize Money for different awards

Starting from the Player of the Match to the Emerging Player of the Season, there are ten different awards you need to know. Based on the WPL 2024 Winner List, here is the detailed information along with the prize money received for lucrative prizes:

1. Player of the Match (INR 2.5 Lakhs): Sophie Molineux (RCB)

The Australian spin-bowler Sophie Molineux grabbed the “Player of the Match” award for her 4-wicket haul against the Delhi Capitals.

2. Orange Cap (INR 5 Lakhs): Ellyse Perry (RCB)

Australian all-rounder Ellyse Perry overtook the leading position of Delhi Capitals skipper Meg Lanning (331 runs in 9 matches) to become the highest run scorer of the WPL 2024 tournament. As a result, Ellyse achieved the Orange cap for scoring 347 runs in 9 matches for RCB. 

3 . Purple Cap (INR 5 Lakhs): Shreyanka Patil (RCB)

The WPL 2024 Winner Team’s bowler Shreyanka Patil showed her talent with the ball to grab the Purple Cap. She took 13 wickets in 8 matches with an economy of 12.08 and became the leading wicket-taker of WPL 2024.

4. Most Valuable Player (INR 5 Lakhs): Deepti Sharma (UPW)

The Indian all-rounder Deepti Sharma was impressive with her performance for UP Warriorz throughout the season and achieved the Most Valuable Player award. Despite scoring 295 runs with the bat and taking 10 wickets in 8 matches, her contribution couldn’t help the team qualify for the playoffs.

5. Powerful Striker of the Season (INR 5 Lakhs): Georgia Wareham (RCB)

The Aussie cricketer of the WPL 2024 winner team Georgia Wareham maintained an Astonishing strike rate in the entire season. Though she scored 111 runs in 6 innings, her strike rate of 163.24 is impressive.

6. Best Catch of the Season (INR 5 Lakhs): S.Sajana (MI)

The youngster from Mumbai Indians, Sajeevan Sajana grabbed the huge prize of the Best catch of the season. 

7. Maximum Sixes in a season (INR 5 Lakhs): Shafali Verma (DC)

Shafali Varma as the Delhi Capitals opener smashed a maximum of 20 sixes in 9 matcheswith an overall score of 309 runs in the entire season.

8. Powerful Striker of the Final (INR 1 Lakh): Shafali Verma (DC)

Shafali Varma in the WPL 2024 finals maintained a strike rate of 162.96 by facing just 27 balls. Though Delhi Capitals couldn’t become the WPL 2024 winner, their opening batter Shafali Verma grabbed back-to-back awards.

9. Maximum Sixes in a Final Match (INR 1 Lakh): Shafali Verma (DC)

Shafali Verma smashed 3 sixes in the finals against Royal Challengers Bangalore and received the cheque of INR 1 lakh. 

10. Emerging Player of the Season (INR 5 Lakhs): Shreyanka Patil (RCB)

Once again the young spinner Shreyanka Patil grabbed another prestigious award, this time as the emerging player of the season. The 21-year-old all-rounder from the WPL 2024 winner squad has trapped the opposition batters by producing huge variations in her spin bowling techniques. As a result, she turned out to be the star player of the entire season.