WPL 2024 Opening Ceremony: Date, Venue, Live Streaming, List of Performers

WPL 2024 Opening Ceremony

The much-awaited WPL 2024 league starts on 23rd February 2024 (Friday) with the clash between the defending champions Mumbai Indians and the finalist Delhi Capitals. Ahead of the tournament’s 2nd season, the BCCI has planned for a grand WPL 2024 opening ceremony, with the greatest names in the cinema industry promising to entertain the spectators.

The inaugural edition of the Women’s Premier League featured some popular celebrities like Kiara Advani, Kriti Sanon, and AP Dhillon among other performers at the opening ceremony.

According to the WPL 2024 schedule, a total number of 22 matches will be held in the upcoming season, and the table-toppers will directly advance into the finals. Whereas, the teams ranking in the second and third position will compete with each other in the eliminator round. The winner of the eliminator round qualifies for the finals played on 17th March 2024.

All single-header matches of the WPL 2024 will be held at these two venues, along with the eliminator and final round, commencing at 07:30 pm IST:

  1. Bengaluru: M. Chinnaswamy Stadium
  2. Delhi:  Arun Jaitley Stadium

Teams Participating in WPL 2024

Here are the 5 different teams participating in WPL 2024 namely:

  1. Mumbai Indians (MI)
  2. Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB)
  3. Gujarat Giants (GG)
  4. UP Warriorz (UPW)
  5. Delhi Capitals (DC)

In the curtain raiser of the WPL 2024 tournament, Delhi Capitals skipper Meg Lanning will aim to avenge their defeat against the defending Champions Mumbai Indians captained by Harmanpreet Kaur.

On the other side, the Mumbai Indians will be aiming to retain their title of defending champions. 

The UP Warriorz team led by Alyssa Healy qualified through the eliminator round in the previous year and lost to Mumbai Indians.

Teams like Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) and Delhi Capitals (DC) failed to qualify for the playoffs in the last season and strive to deliver their best performance.

Recently, all these 5 teams’ skippers gathered for the captain’s meeting in Bengaluru on 21st February 2024 (Wednesday):

  • Alyssa Healy (UP Warriorz)
  • Beth Mooney (Gujarat Giants)
  • Harmanpreet Kaur (Mumbai Indians)
  • Smriti Mandhana (Royal Challengers Bangalore)
  • Meg Lanning (Delhi Capitals)

WPL 2024 Opening Ceremony: Date, Venue and Timings

Compared to the previous edition, the opening ceremony of the forthcoming edition is planned grandly. The details about the date, venue, and timings of the WPL 2024 opening ceremony are tabulated below:

Date and Day23rd February 2024 (Friday)
VenueM. Chinnaswamy Stadium, Bengaluru    
Timings06:30 pm IST
WPL 2024 opening matchMumbai Indians vs Delhi Capitals

Where to watch the WPL 2024 Opening Ceremony? 

Sports 18 TV Channel will telecast the opening ceremony of WPL 2024. Also, you can catch all the live-streaming action of all matches on the Jio Cinemas App and its official website.

List of Performers in WPL 2024 Opening Ceremony

Once again, the Bollywood industry and cricket collaborate to ignite the stage for the grand event of WPL 2024. Here is the list of leading Bollywood actors who will participate in the WPL 2024 opening ceremony, by promising a dazzling spectacle:

  1. Shah Rukh Khan
  2. Kartik Aaryan
  3. Sidharth Malhotra
  4. Varun Dhawan
  5. Tiger Shroff
  6. Shahid Kapoor

Mainly Bollywood star actor Shah Rukh Khan (SRK) will be the attraction at the 32,000-capacity stadium in Bengaluru for the opening ceremony of WPL 2024. At the age of 58, SRK has been ruling Bollywood and retains his position as a top actor in the industry.

Shah Rukh Khan maintains a great relationship with cricket. It was in 2008 when he started his journey as owner of the Kolkata Knight Riders in the inaugural edition of the Indian Premier League (IPL).  Additionally, he played a major role in developing his franchise with teams in the West Indies, the United Arab Emirates (UAE) and the United States of America (USA).

Finally, Shah Rukh Khan after delivering three consecutive blockbuster movies like Pathaan, Jawan and Dunki, promises to entertain cricket fans as well in the upcoming ceremony.

How to Book Tickets for the WPL 2024 Opening Ceremony?

Fans can book tickets on the official website or app of BookMyShow. The ticket sale for the WPL 2024 opening ceremony in Bengaluru started a few days back. However, a user can buy a maximum number of 10 tickets, starting with the minimum number one. In a few cases, the maximum limit per user can be up to 5 tickets per user, based on the availability of seats.

The minimum price range starts from INR 100 and the maximum is INR 200 with various categories of seating arrangements:

  • INR 100: P1 Stand, P1 Annexe Stand, P4 Stand, B Stand, C Stand and H Lower.
  • INR 200: P3 Stand, P3 Annexe

Here is the step-by-step procedure on how to book tickets for the opening ceremony as well as other matches of WPL 2024:

  • Visit the official website or app of BookMyShow.
  • Search “WPL 2024” in the search bar or glance for “WPL 2024 Online Tickets” in the main menu.
  • Select the city where the match takes place
  • Choose the number of seats you want to book by considering the maximum limit criteria and click on the option “Book Now”.
  • On the next page, you can select your preferred seats and categories.
  • Fill up the required information and proceed with the payment option.
  • You will receive an online confirmation of your bookings upon your successful payment, and the e-ticket will be generated on the app or sent to your e-mail.