Women’s IPL 2023 Team List; Franchises, Schedule & Auction

Women's IPL 2023 Team List

The Women’s IPL (WIPL) 2023 has been scheduled for March 2023, following the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup 2023 and prior to the start of the Men’s IPL 2023, according to the BCCI. Women’s IPL 2023 buzz: By the end of 2022; the team intends to have an auction with an open bidding method.

At least six of the ten IPL franchises already in operation have expressed an early interest in purchasing a WIPL squad. The Women’s Indian Premier League’s (WIPL) invitation to tender was released on January 3, 2023; according to the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI).

Women IPL 2023 Team List

The specific names of the cities in each zone will be used to choose the Women’s IPL Team Name. Each squad will consist of a total of 18 players. 8 foreign players can be included in one team. The WIPL’s team formations will entirely depend on the franchise bids, as was already mentioned in the previous sentence.

The 5 teams for the event in 2023 will be chosen from bids issued by the BCCI board. The anticipated team venue for the WIPL 2023 will shortly be announced, but before then,

Here are some expectations:

  • North Zone WIPL Teams: Team Jammu – Team Dharamshala
  • North East WIPL Zone: Team Guwahati
  • Eastern Zone WIPL Teams: Team Cuttack – Team Ranchi.
  • Central Zone WIPL Teams: Team Indore – Team Raipur – Team Indore.
  • South Zone WIPL Teams: Team Visakhapatnam – Team Kochi.
  • Western Zone WIPL Teams: Team Pune – Team Rajkot

Indian Premier League for Women Franchises and Auction

The BCCI has been awarded the rights to host four teams in Women’s IPL 2023; Mumbai, Bangalore, Pune and Rajkot. The board is planning to conduct an auction for these teams. On February 11, 2023, there will probably be an auction for the Women’s Indian Premier League.

In an intriguing auction bid war, the participating players and franchises will have the opportunity to assemble their squads. Prior to the sale, however; the Board of Control for Cricket in India will be holding an auction to establish six franchises for the sport.

The BCCI has decided that these franchises are a part of their glorious history and they want to build on it with the inclusion of a women’s IPL side. They’ve also announced that they would be awarded the Women’s IPL team to the first franchise and they will work with them.

The Board had received 67 Team Bids from the participating cities. Out of which only 5 (Mumbai, Bangalore, Pune, Rajkot and Guwahati) were kept for consideration in a future auction and all of them have bid for these five city zones. The other four zones such as Dharamshala, Cuttack, Ranchi and Indore were dropped from the bidding process on being deemed unfit by the board.

Women’s IPL 2023 Schedule

As mentioned above, the Women’s IPL will be starting on March 2023 at 8 PM local time with the opening ceremony hosted by former international cricketers M.S. Dhoni and Harmanpreet Kaur, who have both played in men’s franchises of IPL and now represent India’s national team in T20 matches.

The start of the IPL is a glorious one and the opening ceremony has been described as “a grand spectacle which drew a huge crowd, both male and female.” The Women’s IPL will begin on that date as well; at around 8 pm in Mumbai and Delhi, with the same venue being used for both competitions.

IPL 2023 Women’s Matches: Streaming Rights

Sony Pictures Networks India, the official broadcasters for IPL, will be broadcasting all the games of IPL 2023 Women’s matches on their sports channels except Sony SIX. Sony is already having rights to broadcast IPL and they have been showing all the matches; but with a heavy heart, they say “Sorry all BCCI fans as we are not going to be able to live stream Women’s IPL matches on Sony LIV this time.”

It is thought that Star Sports will take the rights to show cricket on their sports channel Star Sports; hence taking the Women’s IPL championship in the same network with International Cricket Council (ICC) World Cup (men’s cricket tournament).


The Women’s IPL is a domestic T20 event that has been organized by the BCCI. The WIPL is an extension of the Indian Premier League and plays a similar role in this regard.

Due to the popularity of T20 cricket; it was felt that women should also have their league, free from harassment and other problems.

The women’s IPL will be one of the most celebrated T20 tournaments in history not just for India but for all cricket fans around the globe.