WI clinch 1st T20I bilateral series win over IND since 2016

WI clinch 1st T20I bilateral series

The Caribbean finally overcame India in the T20I series (Ind vs WI) after a long wait of six years. The West Indies team, headed by Rovman Powell. They defeated India by 8 wickets in the pivotal fifth T20 encounter of the series. They ended up winning the 5-match series 3-2 as a result. With the outstanding efforts of Romario Shepherd (4 wickets), Brandon King (85 not out). And Nicholas Pooran (47), West Indies won the T20 series. In more than one T20 series, West Indies has defeated India for the first time since 2016.

India has never before in the history of this format lost a 5-match bilateral series to another side.

At the Lauderhill Cricket Ground in Florida. Team India were able to score 165 runs for 9 wickets in the allotted 20 overs. They choose to bat after winning the toss. In response, the Caribbean batsmen were able to reach the target with two wickets in 18 overs.

Shepherd and King helped the Windies smash Men in Blue by 8 wickets.

After captain Hardik Pandya decided to bat. Romario Shepherd’s 4/31 contributed to limit India to a poor 165/9 score. The hosts were able to complete the task with eight wickets and two overs remaining. Thanks to Brandon King’s unbeaten 85.

As West Indies thrashed India by 8 wickets to win the five-match T20I series 3-2 in Lauderhill on Sunday. Brandon King smashed an unbeaten 85. And Romario Shepherd recorded career-best figures of 4/31.

India leveled the series with lopsided victory earlier this week. And they came into the decisive match at the Park Stadium as the clear favorites. The Men in Blue, yet, lost their first T20I series in two years. After being completely outplayed by Rovman Powell and company.

In India’s nine-wicket victory on Saturday. Shepherd was the only wicket-taker among the West Indians. He started a batting collapse in the middle overs. As Suryakumar Yadav (61 off 45) was starting to mount a comeback.

Shepherd’s dismissal of India captain Hardik Pandya (14) in the 17th over. It signaled the start of the procession and the all-rounder went on to record his first four-fer in T20Is. By removing Arshdeep Singh and Kuldeep Yadav in quick succession in the final over of the match.

The West Indies struggled as Arshdeep dismissed opener Kyle Mayers in his first over. But, the decision to deploy Nicholas Pooran in front of Shai Hope by the hosts paid off. As the in-form wicketkeeper-batter immediately started to bat. He soon formed an offensive partnership with King. That ended the Indians’ chances of winning the match.

King kept going even after Pooran was dismissed by Tilak Verma. Ensuring home team to cross the finish line with plenty of wickets and deliveries left. King reached his third T20I half-century and finished the century stand for the second wicket with a six off Yuzvendra Chahal.

This is West Indies’ second significant victory of the year. In January, they defeated South Africa 2-1 in a three-match road series. It’s also the first time the Men in Maroon have defeated the Indians in a bilateral series of three or more games since 2006. When Brian Lara’s team won a five-match ODI series 4-1.

Since then, West Indies had defeated India in a one-off T20I in 2017 and a two-match T20I series in 2016 both by a score of 1-0.

The reasons why India lost

A poor start Team India won the toss but had a poor opening. At 6 runs, the team lost its first wicket. Yashasvi Jaiswal, the opener who had a half-century in the previous game. He was out after making five runs. Shubman Gill followed him and made it to the pavilion with 9 runs. As a result, the Indian team lost the openers’ wickets for 17 runs.

Despite forming modest partnerships in the middle overs, India lost 9 wickets. As a result, even in the final few overs, they were unable to add further runs. India scored 9 runs in 20 overs while losing 4 wickets in 16 overs.

Failed wicket-takers among the bowlers.

Indian bowlers were completely unsuccessful at getting wickets. The only wicket in this game was taken by Arshdeep Singh. At number 12 for the team, he struck out Kyle Meyers. A century partnership between Nicholas Pooran and Brandon King came next.

After winning the toss, Team India scored 165 runs in 20 overs while taking 9 wickets. In a 61-run inning, Suryakumar Yadav scored a half-century. He achieved his fifteenth fifty in T20 international play. Tilak Verma played an inning with 27 runs off 18 balls alongside Surya. In this inning, Verma hit two sixes and three fours.

For the West Indies, Romario Shepherd took 4 wickets. Jason Holder and Akil Hussain each claimed two wickets.