Vivo IPL 2021 Strongest Team Analysis

IPL 2021 Strongest Team

The Indian Premier League IPL is one of the most widely-followed limited-overs (T20) competitions in the world of cricket. This year will mark the fourteenth edition of the Indian Premier League, which shall be officially known as Vivo IPL 2021 this time. There are a total of eight teams playing the IPL 2021 this time – Mumbai Indians, Kolkata Knight Riders, Sunrisers Hyderabad; Royal Challengers Bangalore, Delhi Capitals, Punjab Kings, and Rajasthan Royals.

Fans of the Indian Premier League will witness the tough competition between these eight teams in course of the entire tournament. The auctions of this edition of the Indian Premier League were held in February and that saw multiple changes taking place in each of the squads. A total of 145.3 crore rupees worth of transactions took place in the auction – showing the standard and quality of players who were auctioned. This time, the IPL shall be held in India. The last edition of the Indian Premier League was held in the United Arab Emirates due to the pandemic, and thus fans will have more reasons to rejoice this time.

The IPL tournament will begin with closed-door matches, but the authorities might allow the audience into the stadium depending on how the situation evolves. Let us have a look at the strongest teams in this edition of the Indian Premier League after the changes that took place.

Delhi Capitals

The IPL team representing Delhi, which was earlier known as Delhi Daredevils had a very good season in 2020. They ended up as the finalists in the last edition and are a serious contender for the trophy this time. They have added a host of talented players, including   Tom Curran  – Rs. 5.25 crore, Steven Smith – Rs. 2.2 crore, Umesh Yadav – Rs. 1 Crore. They dropped  Alex Carey, Keemo Paul, Mohit Sharma, and Jason Roy this time but retained  Shreyas Iyer, Ajinkya Rahane. Amit Mishra, Axar Patel, Ishant Sharma Kagiso Rabada, R Ashwin, Rishabh Pant, and Shikhar Dhawan. Thus, they will have quite an impressive squad this time.

Mumbai Indians

This has probably been the best team of the Indian Premier League. They bought, among other players Nathan Coulter-Nile, Adam Milne, Piyush Chawla, James Neesham, Yudhvir Charak. Apart from these valuable additions, they have largely retained their old squad, including Rohit Sharma, Aditya Tare, Anmolpreet Singh, Anukul Roy, Dhawal Kulkarni, Hardik Pandya, Ishan Kishan, Jasprit Bumrah, Jayant Yadav, Kieron Pollard, Krunal Pandya. The team thus will be looking forward to rock this season as well.

Kolkata Knight Riders

This team has added among other players  Shakib Al Hasan, Harbhajan Singh, Ben Cutting, Karun Nair, Pawan Negi. They also let go of multiple players including Chris Green, Harry Gurney, M Siddharth this time. The likes of Eoin Morgan, Andre Russell, Dinesh Karthik, Pat Cummins, and Sunila Narine were retained.

Rajasthan Royals

The team bought multiple players, including Christopher Morris, Shivam Dube, Chetan Sakariya, Mustafizur Rahman and Liam Livingstone this time. Among the players retained were Sanju Samson, Ben Stokes, Jofra Archer, Jos Buttler and Robin Uthappa.

Sunrisers Hyderabad

This team, which was champions in the 2016 IPL edition, retained the likes David Warner, Wriddhiman Saha, Bhuvneshwar Kumar. Jonny Bairstow, Kane Williamson, Manish Pandey, Mohammad Nabi, Rashid Khan and Sandeep Sharma. Players like Kedar Jadhav, Mujeeb-ur-Rahman were bought while the likes of Billy Stanlake, Sandeep Bavanaka were released.

Royal Challengers Bangalore

Players like Chris Morris, Shivam Dube, Aaron Finch, Umesh Yadav and Gurkeerat Mann were released while the likes of Kyle Jamieson, Glenn Maxwell, Dan Christian were bought. Star players like Virat Kohli, Mohammad Siraj, Navdeep Saini and AB de Villiers were retained.

Punjab Kings

A host of new players were added, including J. Richardson, Riley Meredith, Moises Henriques and Dawid Malan. Players like Glenn Maxwell, Sheldon Cottrell, Mujeeb Zadran and James Neesham were released while KL Rahul, Arshdeep Singh, Chris Gayle, Mayank Agarwal, Mohd. Shami etc. were retained.

Chennai Super Kings

The former champions who had a bad season last time added Krishnappa Gowtham, Moeen Ali and Cheteshwar Pujara to the team. They released Kedar Jadhav, Murali Vijay; Harbhajan Singh and Shane Watson and retained Suresh Raina, Ambati Rayudu, Faf du Plessis, and Dwayne Bravo.


These permutations and combinations have boosted the chance of each and every team to become the champions. It is difficult to predict which is the best IPL team and Indian Premier League 2021 is going to be an interesting fight between some of the best teams in the history of the tournament.