Pandya, Shikhar Dhawan to lead India in New Zealand

Pandya, Shikhar Dhawan

Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli and KL Rahul were rested from India’s tour of New Zealand in November, with Hardik Pandya and Shikhar Dhawan appointed as captains of the T20I and ODI squadrons respectively.

Rishabh Pant has been named Vice Captain for the entire tour which kicks off with the T20Is on November 18, five days after the T20 World Cup Final in Australia. Neither Jasprit Bumrah nor Ravindra Jadeja, who missed the T20 World Cup due to injuries, were chosen for the tour.

Shikhar Dhawan selection as ODI captain, chief selector Chetan Sharma said, was another indicator of his place in India’s plans for more than 50 years for the foreseeable future, especially with the next World Cup in India in exactly a year. Dhawan led India’s second-tier ODI team in a home series against South Africa last month.

Although Rohit, Kohli and Rahul will skip the trip to New Zealand, up to eight players from the T20 World Cup squad will go Hardik, Pant, Deepak Hooda, Suryakumar Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Harshal Patel, Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Arshdeep. Singh has been selected for the T20Is in New Zealand.

Among those considered unlucky to miss, especially with equipped veteran players, is starter Prithvi Shaw. The Mumbai batsman played a key role in the team’s journey to the Syed Mushtaq Ali T20 through knockouts.

“We’re watching Prithvi, we’re in constant contact with Prithvi and he’s doing fine. There’s nothing wrong with him at all,” Sharma said. “The point is that players who are already playing and players who are performing have their chances. He [Shaw] will get his chance. The selectors are in constant contact with him, talking to him, he is doing well and he will take his chances, and opportunities very soon.

While Rohit is believed to have called for a break on Ashwin, Sharma has not revealed whether the decision to omit Dinesh Karthik, the senior member of the T20 World Cup squad, was a sign that India is surpassing the 37-year-old. finisher.

In the fast bowling section, Mohammed Siraj and Deepak Chahar come in for the T20Is and ODIs respectively. Mohammed Shami has been given a break to manage his workload, with India slated to tour Bangladesh in December for their next World Test Championship assignment.

Shubman Gill is the only no-limit player in the 16-man T20I team, while the ODI team has three no-limit players, all fast shooters: Arshdeep, Kuldeep Sen and Umran Malik.

As a starter, Gill was the second-best running back for the IPL champions Gujarat Titans in the 2022 season, scoring 483 runs in 16 innings with a strike rate of 132.32. Kuldeep Sen and Umran also had standout seasons for Rajasthan Royals and Sunrisers Hyderabad respectively.

Kuldeep Sen and Umran are coming off stints with their respective state teams in the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy. Sen managed two wickets in five T20s for Madhya Pradesh with an economy of 10.16, while Umran finished with better numbers: eight wickets in seven matches with an economy of 8.08 and a best of 4 for 27.

The presence of Yuzvendra Chahal and Kuldeep Yadav in the cue ball roster meant there was no room for the third pulse on Ravi Bishnoi. Washington Sundar, part of both squadrons, and Shahbaz Ahmed (ODI) were chosen as the most complete.

India has played three T20Is and three ODIs in New Zealand since November 18, five days after the T20 World Cup final. The T20Is will be played in Wellington (November 18), Mount Maunganui (November 20) and Napier (November 22), while the ODIs will be played in Auckland (November 25), Hamilton (November 27) and Christchurch (November 27). November 30).

India last toured New Zealand in 2020 when they won the T20I series 5-0, lost the ODIs 3-0 and suffered a 2-0 loss in the Test series.

India’s T20I squad:

Hardik Pandya (Captain), Rishabh Pant (Vice-captain), Ishan Kishan, Shubman Gill, Deepak Hooda, Suryakumar Yadav, Shreyas Iyer, Sanju Samson, Washington Sundar, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Harshal Patel, Mohammed Siraj, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Arshdeep Singh, Umran Malik

India’s ODI squad:

Shikhar Dhawan (captain), Rishabh Pant (Vice-captain), Shubman Gill, Deepak Hooda, Shreyas Iyer, Suryakumar Yadav, Sanju Samson, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Shahbaz Ahmed, Washington Sundar, Umran Malik, Kuldeep Sen, Arshdeep Singh, Shardul Thakur, Deepak Chahar.