Nitin Menon included in the Emirates ICC Elite Panel for 2020-21

Emirates ICC Elite Panel

India’s Nitin Menon has been included in the Emirates ICC Elite Panel of Umpires for the season 2020-21 following the annual review and selection process conducted by the International Cricket Council.

The 36-year-old, who has officiated in three Tests, 24 ODIs and 16 T20Is, replaces England’s Nigel Llong and is the third from his country to make the prestigious panel after Srinivas Venkatraghavan and Sundaram Ravi.

A selection panel consisting of ICC General Manager – Cricket, Geoff Allardice (Chairman), former player and commentator Sanjay Manjrekar, and match referees Ranjan Madugalle and David Boon, picked Menon, who was earlier part of the Emirates ICC International Panel of Umpires.

Nitin Menon: “It’s a great honor and matter of pride for me to be named in the Elite panel. To be officiating regularly along with the leading umpires and referees of the world is something that I always dreamt of and the feeling has yet to sink in.

“Having already officiated in Tests, ODIs and T20Is as well as in ICC events, I understand the great responsibility that comes with the job. I look forward to the challenges and will do my best at every opportunity I get. I also feel this is a responsibility for me to take Indian umpires forward and help them by sharing my experiences.

“I would like to take this opportunity to thank the Madhya Pradesh Cricket Association, BCCI and ICC for their support and believing in my ability over the years. I would also like to thank my family for their sacrifices and unconditional support throughout my career.”

Adrian Griffith, ICC Senior Manager – Umpires and Referees: “Nitin has come through our pathway system with very consistent performances. I congratulate him for being selected to the Elite panel and wish him continued success.”

The other members of the Emirates ICC Elite Panel of Umpires are Aleem Dar, Kumar Dharmasena, Marais Erasmus, Chris Gaffaney, Michael Gough, Richard Illingworth, Richard Kettleborough, Bruce Oxenford, Paul Reiffel, Rod Tucker and Joel Wilson.

Emirates ICC Elite Panel of Umpires for 2020-21:

Aleem Dar13220846
Kumar Dharmasena6510522
Marais Erasmus629226
Chris Gaffaney336822
Michael Gough146214
Richard Illingworth476816
Richard Kettleborough648922
Nitin Menon32416
Bruce Oxenford599620
Paul Reiffel487016
Rod Tucker718435
Joel Wilson196626

Emirates ICC Elite Panel of Match Referees for 2020-21:

Match RefereeTestsODIsT20Is
David Boon5714363
Chris Broad100323106
Jeff Crowe99298124
Ranjan Madugalle193363104
Andy Pycroft7617887
Richie Richardson295436
Javagal Srinath5322383

Credit: @ICC

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *