New York Strikers clinch their maiden trophy of Abu Dhabi T10 League

New York Strikers clinch trophy of Abu Dhabi T10

NYS vs DG final match 2023 Highlights: New York Strikers (NYS) secured a massive win against the 2-times defending champions Deccan Gladiators (DG) by 7 wickets and 4 balls to spare.

The finals of the Abu Dhabi T10 League were grandly organized at Sheikh Zayed Cricket Stadium, Abu Dhabi

Asif Ali’s unbeaten knock shattered the hopes of the Deccan Gladiators to achieve a hattrick of wins as the first team in the Abu Dhabi T10 League.

The intense battle between both teams entertained the spectators to a great extent.

Moreover, the brilliant contribution from Sunil Narine’s bowling and Asif Ali’s batting posed the most formidable challenges to the Deccan Gladiators.

New York Strikers skipper Kieron Pollard led his team brilliantly in the Abu Dhabi T10 2023 finals. It was the most joyful moment for the New York Strikers to lift their first trophy in the Abu Dhabi 10 League. 

NYS vs DG final match 2023 Highlights: Toss result

New York Strikers skipper Kieron Pollard’s decision to bowl first proved to be favorable for his team.

Especially, Pollard believed that his team could chase any target under pressure in the finals.

NYS vs DG final match 2023 Highlights: Playing XI for both teams

Deccan Gladiators (DG)  have made a single change in their playing XI compared to the Qualifier 2 match of Abu Dhabi T10 League 2023.

New Zealand medium pacer Trent Boult replaced England’s all-rounder Luke Wood in the finals for Deccan Gladiators. 

Contrarily, New York Strikers (NYS) continued with their same playing XI of the Qualifier 1 match in the Abu Dhabi T10 League 2023 by keeping Rahmanullah Gurbaz as a substitute.

NYS Playing XI for Abu Dhabi T10 2023 finals:

  1. Muhammad Waseem
  2. Niroshan Dickwella (WK)
  3. Asif Ali
  4. Kieron Pollard (C )
  5. Chamika Karunaratne
  6. Odean Smith
  7. Sunil Narine
  8. Mohammad Amir
  9. Akeal Hosein
  10. Muhammad Jawadullah
  11. George Scrimshaw

DG Playing XI for Abu Dhabi T10 2023 finals:

  1. Nicholas Pooran(c)
  2. Tom Kohler-Cadmore
  3. Andre Fletcher(Wk)
  4. Andre Russell
  5. Fabian Allen
  6. Imad Wasim
  7. Trent Boult
  8. Zahoor Khan
  9. Mohammad Zahid
  10. David Wiese
  11. Nuwan Thushara

Deccan Gladiators Batting

The Deccan Gladiators batsmen batting first, succumbed to a collapsing start in a grand final stage of the tournament.

The early dismissal of these best-performers at regular intervals restricted Deccan Gladiators to a below the 100-run mark in the 10-over format of the game:

  1. Kohler-Cadmore ( 13 runs from 7 balls – including 2 fours): Dismissed at 28-1 in 2.5 overs.
  2. Nicholas Pooran ( 15 runs from 11 balls- including 3 fours): Dismissed at 28-2 in 3.1 overs.
  3. Andre Fletcher ( 5 runs from 6 balls-including 1 four): Dismissed at 36-3 in 4.4 overs.
  4. Imad Wasim ( 3 runs from 5 balls): Dismissed at 41-4 in 5.6 overs.
  5. Fabian Allen ( 1 run from 2 balls): Dismissed at 57-5 in 7.1 overs.

Additionally, Sunil Narine’s excellent bowling spell of taking 2 wickets in 2 overs by conceding just 6 runs, made it impossible for the Deccan Gladiators to post a high total.

Finally, Andre Russell’s 30 runs from 18 balls ( including 2 fours and 2 sixes) and David Wiese’s 20 runs from 11 balls (including 1 four and 2 sixes), guided Deccan Gladiators to post a total of  91-5 in 10 overs.

New York Strikers Batting

Similar to Deccan Gladiators, New York Strikers struggled with the bat during the start of the 2nd innings. The openers Rahmanullah Gurbaz ( 1 run from 3 balls) and Muhammad Waseem ( 6 runs from 3 balls) were dismissed at an early stage.

With 7-2 in 1.1 overs, the New York Strikers batsmen were extremely pressurized to chase the remaining score of 85 runs from 53 balls.

Niroshan Dickwella ( 14 runs from 12 balls -including 1 four and six) stitched a 30-run partnership with Asif Ali but couldn’t sustain it longer.

Ultimately, Kieron Pollard’s entry made situations favorable for the New York Strikers.

The New York Strikers skipper Kieron Pollard was raging by scoring 22 runs from 13 balls( including 1 four and 1 six). But, the skipper maintained his composure and provided a perfect backup to Asif Ali.

As the last over required 5 runs to win; Kieron Pollard took a single to bring Asif Ali back to strike.

Asif Ali finished in style by smashing a six as well as the winning runs for his team.

An unbeaten knock from Asif Ali scoring 48 runs from 25 balls( including 2 fours and 4 sixes); steered New York Strikers to clinch their maiden defending champions title in Abu Dhabi T10 2023.

Overall Facts

Deccan Gladiators’ hopes to achieve a hattrick, fell short of their batting performance that led to a below-par score. Though the former defending champions scored 91 runs in 10 overs, it wasn’t sufficient on a grand event.

Ultimately, New York Strikers are the new defending champions of the Abu Dhabi T10 League. Kieron Pollard and his men performed exceptionally under pressure by implementing perfect strategies.

Though New York Strikers were threatened by the Deccan Gladiators bowlers; Asif Ali and Kieron Pollard safely guided their team to a successful run chase.

Overall, it was a brilliant effort from both the teams, and the outcome was purely based on the concept of “Survival of the fittest”!!!