Kolkata triumph over SRH to lift IPL 2024 trophy

Kolkata lift IPL 2024 trophy

On 26th May (Sunday), the Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) franchise led by Shreyas Iyer achieved a dominating victory against Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) by 8 wickets with 57 balls to spare in the finals, to become the IPL 2024 winners.

Venkatesh Iyer’s monstrous knock of 52 runs from 26 balls (including 4 fours and 3 sixes) and Rahmanullah Gurbaz’s steady innings of 39 runs from 32 balls (including 5 fours and 2 sixes), steered KKR to a comfortable run chase and reached a total of 114-2 in just 10.3 overs.

SRH captain Pat Cummins’s decision to bat first after winning the toss completely backfired his plans, as the match at MA Chidambaram Stadium in Chennai proved to be a one-sided contest. Moreover, the Knight Riders maintained their domination with both bat and ball.

Interestingly, KKR under Shreyas Iyer’s captaincy turned back the clock to the IPL 2012 finals played at the same venue, to become the defending champions in the Indian Premier League (IPL) for the third time.

KKR bowlers namely Andre Russell (19-3 in 2.3 overs), Mitchell Starc (14-2 in 3 overs) and Harshit Rana (24-2 in 4 overs) completely dismantled the powerful batting unit of SRH. Additionally, Sunil Narine and Varun Chakaravarthy played a supportive role by grabbing the wickets of Jaydev Unadkat and Shahbaz Ahmed.

Shockingly, Sunrisers Hyderabad were bowled out to the lowest total ever in the history of IPL finals.

Let’s delve deeper to find out the contrasting performances of SRH and KKR in the powerplay, middle and death overs of the IPL 2024 finals. Furthermore, you would be interested to know the orange and purple cap winners, the Most Valuable Player (MVP) and several other awards along with the prize money of the winner and runner-up in detail…

Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) Performance in IPL 2024 Finals

Here is how SRH ended with scoring 113-10 in 18.3 overs in the finals, pointed out by their performances in three different phases of the match:

Struggle in Powerplay Overs: 40-3 in 6 overs (4 fours and 1 six, 6 extras- 2lb, 4 wd)

SRH faced a huge blow in the early stages of the powerplay after the dismissal of Abhishek Sharma (2 runs from 5 balls) and Travis Head (0 from 1 ball).

KKR pace bowler Mitchell Starc was fuming in the powerplay overs (14-2 in 3 overs)  by taking the wickets of Abhishek Sharma and Rahul Tripathi (9 runs from 13 balls- including a four).

Unfortunately, SRH scored its second joint-lowest powerplay score (40-3) this season against PBKS and KKR. 

Sluggish Middle Overs: 50-5 in 9 overs (4 fours and 1 six, 3 extras- 2wd, 1b)

SRH middle order batters collapsed in the middle overs by scoring just 50 runs and losing 5 wickets between 7 and 15 overs:

  • Nitish Reddy: 13 runs from 10 balls (including 1 four and 1 six).
  • Aiden Markram: 20 runs from 23 balls (including 3 fours).
  • Shahbaz Ahmed: 8 runs from 7 balls (including 1 six).
  • Abdul Samad (Substituted as an Impact player by replacing Travis Head): 4 runs from 4 balls.
  • Heinrich Klaasen: 16 runs from 17 balls (including 1 four). 

Surrender in Death Overs: 23-2 in 3.3 overs ( 1 six, 4 extras- 4b)

Pat Cummins’s dropped catch at 10 runs by Mitchell Starc helped SRH cross the 100-run mark. However, the SRH skipper managed to score only 24 runs from 19 balls (including 2 fours and 1 six), after Mitchell Starc grabbed a brilliant catch in the 19th over bowled by Andre Russell.

A lack of support and low level of strike rotation from Jaydev Unadkat ( 4 runs from 11 balls), made SRH struggle in the death overs by scoring only 23 runs and losing 2 wickets in 3.3 overs.

Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) Performance in IPL 2024 Finals

The Kolkata Knight Riders batters simply utilized the powerplay and middle overs to comfortably chase the target of 114 runs:

Domination in Powerplay Overs: 72-1 in 6 overs (8 fours and 4 sixes, 5 extras- 5 wd)

Sunil Narine’s early dismissal after scoring 6 runs from just 2 balls (including a six), left KKR batters questioned in a crucial run chase. However, Venkatesh Iyer’s blistering batting performance propelled KKR to achieve the highest powerplay score in the IPL finals history.

Here are the notable scores of Venkatesh Iyer and Rahmanullah Gurbaz in powerplay overs:

  • Rahmanullah Gurbaz: 21 runs from 22 balls (3 fours)
  • Venkatesh Iyer: 40 runs from 12 balls ( 5 fours and 3 sixes)

Winning Moments in the Middle Overs: 42-1 in 4.3 overs ( 3 fours and 2 sixes, 6 extras- 4b, 2lb)

Despite Gurbaz’s dismissal, Venkatesh Iyer’s 24-ball fifty kept KKR in the hunt to secure a thumping victory, and he struck the winning runs in the 11th over bowled by Shahbaz Ahmed. Finally, KKR lifted the IPL trophy for 3rd time (in 2012, 2014 and 2024).

NOTE: Here “wd” refers to “wide”, “lb” means “leg-byes” and “b” conveys “byes” for the extras conceded by the teams.

IPL 2024 Awards: Winner, Runner-up, and Fair Play Award Prize Money

The prize money for the winner, runner-up, and fair play award in IPL 2024, won by the best teams is tabulated below:

TitleTeamPrize Money (INR)
WinnerKolkata Knight Riders (KKR)20 Crores
Runner-UpSunrisers Hyderabad (SRH)12.5 Crores
Fair Play AwardSunrisers Hyderabad (SRH)10 Lakhs

IPL 2024 Final Match: Award Winners and Prize Money

Here is the prize money for various award winners of the IPL 2024 final match, detailing the talented players who performed exceptionally well: 

S.NoAwardPlayerTeamPerformancePrize Money (INR)
1.Electric Striker of the matchVenkatesh IyerKolkata Knight Riders (KKR)200.00 Strike Rate1 Lakh
2.Fantasy PlayerMitchell StarcKolkata Knight Riders (KKR)84 Fantasy Points1 lakh
3.Most SixesVenkatesh IyerKolkata Knight Riders (KKR)3 Sixes1 Lakh
4.Most FoursRahmanullah GurbazKolkata Knight Riders (KKR)5 Fours1 Lakh
5.Maximum Dot Balls Bowled Harshit RanaKolkata Knight Riders (KKR)11 Dot balls1 Lakh
6.Player of the MatchMitchell StarcKolkata Knight Riders (KKR)2-13 in 3 overs5 Lakhs

IPL 2024 Winner List and Prize Money for different awards

Starting from the Orange Cap to the Most Valuable Player (MVP) of the season, here is the list of winners for nine different awards and the prize money awarded after the IPL 2024 finals:

S.NoAwardPlayerTeamPrize Money (INR)Performance
1.Orange CapVirat KohliRoyal Challengers Bengaluru (RCB)10 Lakhs741 runs in 15 innings
2.Purple CapHarshal PatelPunjab Kings (PBKS)10 Lakhs24 Wickets in 14 innings
3.Emerging Player of the SeasonNitish ReddySunrisers Hyderabad  (SSRH)10 Lakhs303 runs in 13 innings
4.Electric StrikerJake Fraser-McGurkDelhi Capitals10 LakhsStrike rate of 242.00
5.Ultimate Fantasy Player of the SeasonSunil NarineKolkata Knight Riders (KKR)10 Lakhs1,305 fantasy points
6.Super Sixes of the seasonAbhishek SharmaSunrisers Hyderabad (SRH )10 Lakhs42 Sixes
7.  Maximum Fours of the seasonTravis HeadSunrisers Hyderabad (SRH )10 Lakhs64 Fours
8.Catch of the SeasonRamandeep SinghKolkata Knight Riders (KKR)10 LakhsBest Catch vs Lucknow Super Giants (LSG) to dismiss Arshin Kulkarni 
9.Most Valuable Player (MVP) of the seasonSunil NarineKolkata Knight Riders (KKR)10 Lakhs431.5 MVP Points