IPL 2022 Mega Auction Date, News, Retained Players List, Live Telecast Details

IPL 2022 Mega Auction Date

The preparations for next year’s edition of the IPL 2022 are in full flow. With the retention procedure completed by all 8 franchises on November 30, the next step would be for the two new teams to declare their first batch of purchased players. The Lucknow-based and the Ahmedabad-based teams have their task cut out for them. They are likely to make their purchases public by the end of this month.

IPL Mega Auction Date Yet To Be Finalised

The BCCI has notified the media that it has not been able to decide on the date when the IPL mega auction will take place. This is because the two new franchises have not submitted the names of their players yet to the IPL governing council. Each new team will get to buy 3 players before the auction day. The BCCI has also said that the Covid-19 situation in the country, with the fear surrounding the new Omicron variant, will most likely not affect the normal proceedings of the auction.

Since the board has extended the date of submission of the new players’ list from December 25 to December 31, the board will likely hold the auction sometime in the middle of January 2022.

Auction Timing And Broadcast News

The IPL mega auction is scheduled to start at 3.30 pm on the selected day and date. The event would be aired live on the Star Sports Network in India. In addition to this, mobile viewers would be able to experience the same via streaming service provider Disney+Hotstar.

IPL Governing Council Gets New Member

At the BCCI’s Annual General Meeting on Saturday, December 4, incumbent members Brijesh Patel and Khairul Jamal were given fresh tenures after re-election. Former Indian player Pragyan Ojha got inducted into the governing council as a representative of the players’ association.

Future Of Ahmedabad Team To Be Decided Soon

Under scanner CVC Capital Partners and their franchise, the Ahmedabad –based team, is still on the news for all the wrong reasons. However, the latest internal reports from the board headquarters suggest that they would be given the benefit of the doubt and welcomed into the IPL fold.

While facing reporters after the AGM in Kolkata, an official working with the BCCI said, “The Ahmedabad issue will be sorted next week. Though the IPL GC will formally finalize and announce the Mega-Auction dates but it is likely to be conducted in 2nd week of January.”

BCCI And IPL GC Thorough In Its Investigations Of CVC Capital Partners

The controversy surrounding the ownership of the team from Ahmedabad has made the cricket board run from door to door to get authentic legal opinions regarding the case. More than a dozen legal teams have been hired and consulted with by the board to reach a final verdict. The matter will be given a closure, once the neutral panel that has been set up by the IPL GC, checks all the points and submits a final report to the board.

IPL 2022 Team-wise Full List Of Retained Players 

Kolkata Knight Riders: Andre Russell- 12 Cr, Varun Chakravarthy- 8 Cr, Venkatesh Iyer- 8 Cr, Sunil Narine- 6 Cr.

Rajasthan Royals: Sanju Samson (14 Cr), Jos Butler- 10 Cr, Yashasvi Jaiswal- 4 Cr.

Delhi Capitals: Rishabh Pant- 16 Cr, Axar Patel- 9 Cr, Prithvi Shaw- 7.5 Cr, Anruch Nortje- 6.5 Cr.

Chennai Super Kings: Ravindra Jadeja- 16 Cr, MS Dhoni- 12 Cr, Moeen Ali- 8 Cr, Ruturaj Gaikwad- 6 Cr.

Sunrisers Hyderabad: Kane Williamson- 14 Cr, Abdul Samad- 4cr, Umran Malik- 4 Cr.

Punjab Kings: Mayank Agarwal- 14 Cr, Arshdeep Singh- 4Cr.

Royal Challengers Bangalore: Virat Kohli- 15 Cr, Glenn Maxwell- 11 Cr, Mohammad Siraj- 7 Cr.

Mumbai Indians: Rohit Sharma- 16 Cr, Jasprit Bumrah- 12 Cr, Suryakumar Yadav- 8 Cr, Kieron Pollard- 6 Cr.

IPL 2022 Team-wise Selected List Of Released Players

KKR: Eoin Morgan, Shubhman Gill, Pat Cummins.

RR: Jofra Archer, Ben Stokes.

DC: Kagiso Rabada, Shikhar Dhawan, Shreyas Iyer, Ravichandran Ashwin.

CSK: Faf Du Plessis, Dwayne Bravo, Ambati Rayudu, Suresh Raina.

MI: Ishan Kishan, Hardik Pandya, Trent Boult, Quinton De Kock.

IPL 2022 Team-wise Remaining Player Purse

KKR: Retained players- 4; Remaining purse- 62 Cr

RR: Retained players- 3; Remaining purse- 62 Cr

DC: Retained players- 4; Remaining purse: 47.5 Cr

CSK: Retained players- 4; Remaining purse: 42 Cr

SRH: Retained players- 3; Remaining purse- 68 Cr

PBKS: Retained players- 2; Remaining players- 72 Cr

MI: Retained players- 4; Remaining purse- 48 Cr

RCB: Retained players- 3; Remaining Purse- 57 Cr