IPL 2021 Auction – All You Need to Know About IPL 14

IPL 2021 Auction

After a successful IPL 13 despite the COVID-19 pandemic, the fourteenth edition of the Indian premier league cricket tournament, IPL 2021 auction is to be held later this year. This has sparked a lot of excitement and conjecture among the cricketing circles about every possible IPL 2021 team.

How IPL 2021 auctions will work

People are excited about the IPL 2021 Auction which players will be retained and released by the eight teams who have been partaking in the tournament – Mumbai Indians (MI), Chennai Super Kings (CSK), Delhi Capitals (DC), Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB), Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR), Rajasthan Royals (RR), Kings XI Punjab (KXIP) and Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH).

The board has set a deadline of January 21 for the teams to determine the players retained and released for IPL 2021. This time, the board has decided not to hold mega-auctions. Mini-auctions will be held in a place of the mega-auctions this time.

These mini-auctions for IPL 2021 shall be held on the 18th of February 2021. Every Indian player who does not have a contract can register for the IPL 2021 auction and have a chance to become a part of the IPL 2021 team by uploading their documents online and can send their originals by post till February 12.

The state cricket association will initiate for the player which they can further complete on their own after the login credentials get generated. There shall be no external parties involved in the process of Auctioning the players.

Team-wise Players Release/Retain

There is a lot of speculation about the players retained and released in IPL 2021. Let us have a look at the IPL 2021 Auction players retained or released for the auctions. Please note that this list is in no way conclusive.

Mumbai Indians

  • Players retained by MI: Rohit Sharma, Hardik Pandya. Krunal Pandya, Kieron Pollard, Jasprit Bumrah
  • Players released by MI: Nathan Coulter-Nile

Chennai Super Kings

  • Players retained by CSK: MS Dhoni, Deepak Chahar. Lungi Ngidi, Ravindra Jadeja,  Ruturaj Gaikwad. Shardul Thakur, Sam Curran, Narayan Jagadeeshan
  • Players released by CSK: KM Asif, Piyush Chawla, Kedar Jadhav. Murali Vijay

Delhi Capitals

  • Players retained by DC: Axar Patel, Shimron Hetmyer, Tushar Deshpande. Sandeep Lamichhane, Prithvi Shaw, Ajinkya Rahane, Harshal Patel, Ishant Sharma
  • Players released by DC: Amit Mishra, Daniel Sams. Avesh Khan, Alex Carey, Mohit Sharma, Keemo Paul

Royal Challengers Bangalore

  • Players retained: Virat Kohli, AB de Villiers, Devdutt Padikkal, Yuzvendra Chahal. Mohammed Siraj, Navdeep Saini, Chris Morris
  • Players released: Shivam Dube, Washington Sundar. Joshua Philippe, Gurkeerat Mann, Pawan Negi, Isuru Udana. Pavan Deshpande, Shahbaz Ahamad, Aaron Finch

Kolkata Knight Riders

  • Players retained by KKR: Eoin Morgan, Shubman Gill. Lockie Ferguson, Nitish Rana, Kamlesh Nagarkoti, Rahul Tripathi, Varun Chakravarthy. Chris Green, Tom Banton, Sandeep Warrier, Pat Cummins
  • Players released by KKR: Dinesh Karthik, Kuldeep Yadav

Rajasthan Royals

  • Players retained:  Ben Stokes, Jofra Archer, Jos Buttler. Sanju Samson, Rahul Tewatia. Steve Smith, Kartik Tyagi, Tom Curran
  • Players released: Shreyas Gopal, Varun Aaron, Akash Singh. Anuj Rawat, Mahipal Lomror, Jaydev Unadkat. Robin Uthappa, Andrew Tye

Kings XI Punjab

  • Players retained: KL Rahul, Mayank Agarwal. Mohammed Shami, Ravi Bishnoi, Nicholas Pooran, Mandeep Singh. Chris Jordan, Murugan Ashwin, Arshdeep Singh, Chris Gayle, Deepak Hooda. James Neesham, Krishnappa Gowtham. J Suchith, Tajinder Singh Dhillon, Darshan Nalkande
  • Players released: Glenn Maxwell, Sheldon Cottrell. Mujeeb Ur Rahman, Sarfaraz Khan, Karun Nair, Ishan Porel. Hardus Viljoen, Prabhsimran Singh

Sunrisers Hyderabad

  • Players retained: David Warner, Rashid Khan. Kane Williamson, T Natarajan, Jason Holder. Jonny Bairstow, Wriddhiman Saha
  • Players released: Billy Stanlake, Mitchell Marsh. Siddarth Kaul, Sanjay Yadav, Shreevats Goswami. Bavanaka Sandeep


With these additions, subtractions, permutations and combinations in the squads before the beginning of IPL 2021 auction, the tournament would surely be very exciting.

Mumbai Indians are the reigning champions and they would look to retain their trophy in IPL 2021. Each IPL 2021 team promises to be exciting. We are sure that if the COVID-19 restrictions are eased out, we will have good attendance in the legendary Indian venues for the entire tournament.

This time there might be exciting overseas players to boost up each IPL 2021 team auction – Dawid Malan, Rassie van Der Hussen, Adil Rashid, Colin Munro and Tim Selfert. With the IPL 2021 auction, each IPL 2021 team would have a way to boost its team. This reshuffling promises a brilliant tournament to look forward to and cricket lovers will be really happy.