India’s standby players set to travel to Australia with main squad

India’s standby players

Last week, the All India Senior Selection Committee announced India’s 15-man squad for the upcoming 2022 T20 World Cup, to be held in Australia from October 16 to November 13.

The selectors also named four players on the waiting list, including rhythm duo Mohammad Shami and Deepak Chahar, middle-class batsman Shreyas Iyer and leg spinner Ravi Bishnoi.

According to a report from Cricbuzz, all four substitutes will travel to Australia with the main team and be available at any time to join the squad.

Before India leaves for Australia for the T20 World Cup, India will play six T20Is at home against Australia and South Africa.

In particular, pacemakers Arshdeep Singh and Bhuvneshwar Kumar, along with all-rounder Hardik Pandya, have been asked to report to the NCA for conditioning-related work during the home series.

Should any of the mentioned fast bowlers in the 15-man squad encounter a fitness-related issue, Shami and Chahar will be available for team management.

The Indian contingent will head to Australia on October 6, while the Men in Blue kick off their T20 World Cup 2022 campaign against arch-rivals Pakistan at Melbourne Cricket Ground on October 23.

There has been much debate over Mohammed Shami’s exclusion from the main squad, but he last played a T20I match during the 2021 T20 World Cup in the United Arab Emirates. The right-armed fastball pitcher took six wickets for 140 runs in five games, with an economy of 8.84. However, it performed well at IPL 2022.

India squad for T20 World Cup:

Rohit Sharma (Captain), KL Rahul (vice-captain), Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Deepak Hooda, Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), Dinesh Karthik (wicket-keeper), Hardik Pandya, R. Ashwin, Yuzvendra Chahal, Axar Patel, Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Harshal Patel, Arshdeep Singh.

India Standby players –

Mohd. Shami, Shreyas Iyer, Ravi Bishnoi, Deepak Chahar.

The Indian team will travel to Australia on October 6 after the final T20i at home against South Africa in Indore on October 4. The World Cup will take place in Australia from October 16 to November 13. India’s first game is against Pakistan on October 23. but the team has two pre-season matches, one against Australia and one against New Zealand.

T20 World Cup 2022 India Schedule

Match DateMatch CentreTime in ISTStadiumVenue
23-Oct-2022India vs Pakistan1:30 PMMelbourne Cricket GroundMelbourne
27-Oct-2022India vs A24:30 OMSydney Cricket GroundSydney
30-Oct-2022India vs South Africa4:30 PMPerth StadiumPerth
2-Nov-2022India vs Bangladesh1:30 PMAdelaideAdelaide
6-Nov-2022India vs B11:30 PMMelbourne Cricket GroundMelbourne

T20 World Cup 2022 Live Streaming and Streaming

Star Sports has the official broadcasting rights for the T20 World Cup 2022, while Hotstar+Disney has the online broadcasting rights in India and its subcontinents. Star Sports partners with alternative TV stations and online streaming platforms for countries where these two cannot provide service.

How To Watch ICC T20 World Cup 2022 In India?

The T20 World Cup is broadcast on Star Sports Network. The leading Indian broadcaster has ensured that the games are broadcast in multiple languages ​​and on multiple network channels.

How to watch T20 World Cup 2022 in India for free?

Disney+Hotstar has the right to stream the T20 World Cup 2022 online, so fans of the T20 World Cup must choose a premium subscription package to watch online. But people want to watch their favorite cricket league online for free.

Can we watch T20 World Cup 2022 live for free? Here we discuss the possibilities of such cases:

In addition to subscribing to Disney+Hotstar, the Indian telecom service providers have given some extra compliments on their top-up package that allows us to watch Hotstar content.

T20 World Cup 2022 Official App

ICC is launching an official mobile app for the upcoming T20 World Cup 2022, where cricket fans can get updates on the tournament. ICC has released the app for IOS and Android mobile operating systems.

Click on the following link to download the official T20 World Cup 2022 app:


iOS (apple)

Steps to install the official T20 World Cup 2022 app

  • Install the app from Android (Play store)/IOS (App Store) according to your mobile operating system.
  • Choose the team you advocated for to get personalized scores, news, and match summaries.
  • Create an account by filling in the necessary details for registration or logging in with Google or Facebook.
  • Immediately after logging in you will find tons of news articles, retrospective videos of T20 WC 2022, information about the teams playing T20 WC 2022 with their rankings, etc.

ICC T20 World Cup 2022 Summary

ICC Cricket T20 World Cup 2022From 16 October 2022 to 13 November 2022
AdministratorInternational Cricket Council (ICC)
FormatT20 (20 Over Cricket League Match)
The tournament format(s)Group stage to knockout and Final
Opening Match16 October 2022
Semi-Final-19 November 2022
Semi-Final-211 November 2022
Final Match13 November 2022
Participants Team16
Total Matches played45
Current winnerAustralia
Winner Prize Moneytotal- 42.07 crore, Winner- 12.02 crore, runner- 6.01 crore