India Women’s Cricket 15-Member Squad Finalized for Asia Cup 2024

Asia Cup 2024

Finally, the BCCI (Board of Control for Cricket in India) has announced the 15-member squad of the Indian Women’s cricket team for the upcoming Women’s Asia Cup 2024 that starts on July 19 (Friday) marking the clash between the UAE and Nepal in the opening match. On the same day, India will kickstart their campaign against its arch-rivals Pakistan at 7 pm IST.

According to the official schedule, all 15 matches of the tournament, including the knockouts and finals will be played in a T20 format at the same venue— Rangiri Dambulla International Stadium (Dambulla, Sri Lanka).

The eight participating nations in this tournament have been divided into two groups namely Group A and Group B. Teams that finish in the top two positions from each group (four teams in total) will qualify for the semi-finals. The finals are scheduled to take place on 28th July 2024 (Sunday) 

After scrutinizing the Indian team squad for Asia Cup 2024, it becomes clear that it is the abridged version of the ongoing South African series. In other words, the selectors have decided to continue with the 15 out of 17 players, currently playing in the T20 series against South Africa and excluded Amanjot Kaur and Shabnam Md Shakil from the squad.

Harmanpreet Kaur is set to lead the squad and aims to retain the defending champions’ title with Smriti Mandhana taking the responsibility of a vice-captain’s role.

Let’s find out the players included in Team India’s 15-member squad for the Women’s Asia Cup 2024 and the reasons for omitting Amanjot Kaur and Shabnam Shakil from the squad. Most importantly, we will look at Team India’s competitors in the group stages of the tournament. 

Why Amanjot Kaur and Shabnam Shakil isn’t part of the Indian Squad for the Women’s Asia Cup 2024? 

Shabnam Shakil, a 17-year-old cricketer, is yet to make her international debut and was a late inclusion in the team for all three formats (Tests, ODIs, and T20Is) to bolster the pace bowling attack. On the other side, the pace-bowling all-rounder Amanjot Kaur hasn’t been a part of the playing XI in any of the matches in the ongoing tour so far. The 23-year-old woman cricketer is waiting to grab a chance to make her debut.

Whereas, the rest of the squad consists of familiar names such as the captain Harmanpreet Kaur, and the vice-captain Smriti Mandhana, Shafali Verma, Deepti Sharma, and several others. Also, the selectors have named players such as Shweta Sehrawat, Saika Ishaque, Tanuja Kanwer, and Meghna Singh, who will be traveling as the reserve players.

India Women competitors in Asia Cup 2024 Group Stages: Teams in Group A and Group B

Group A and Group B of the Asia Cup 2024 tournament consist of four teams each. You can find Team India in Group A along with these three competitors as listed below:

  • Group A Teams in Women’s Asia Cup 2024: India, Nepal, Pakistan, and UAE
  • Group B Teams in Women’s Asia Cup 2024: Sri Lanka, Thailand, Bangladesh, and Malaysia

Analyzing the teams in both groups gives a clear idea that India needs to win at least 2 out of 3 matches in the Group A fixtures to qualify for the semi-finals.

Schedule for 1st and 2nd Semi-Final of Women’s Asia Cup 2024

Here is the schedule of the 1st and 2nd semi-final teams for the Asia Cup 2024 which will be decided based on teams ranking in the top two positions of each group:

  • 1st semi-final (July 26 at 2 pm IST): (Winner of Group A) vs (Runner-up of Group B)
  • 2nd semi-final (July 26 at 7 pm IST): (Winner of Group B) vs (Runner-up of Group A) 

NOTE: Here “winner” refers to the team that finishes in the first position of a particular group and “runner-up” refers to the team that concludes in the second position in the same group.

Indian Cricket Team 15-member Squad for Women’s Asia Cup 2024

Here is the list of Team India’s 15-member squad for the Women’s Asia Cup 2024 tabulated below along with their roles:

S. NoPlayerRoleBatting StyleBowling Style
1.Shafali VarmaBatting All-rounderRight-HandedRight-arm off-spin  
2.Smriti Mandhana (vice-captain)BatterLeft-handedRight-arm medium-fast
3.Dayalan HemalathaBatterRight-HandedRight-arm off-spin  
4.Harmanpreet Kaur (captain)Batting All-rounderRight-Handed  Right-arm off-spin  
5.Jemimah RodriguesBatterRight-HandedRight-arm off-spin
6.Deepti SharmaBatting AllrounderLeft-HandedRight-arm off-spin
7.Richa GhoshBatter and WicketkeeperRight-HandedRight-arm medium-fast
8.Uma ChetryBatter and WicketkeeperRight-HandedNA
9.Pooja VastrakarBowling All-rounderRight-HandedRight-arm medium-fast
10.Arundhati ReddyBowlerRight-HandedRight-arm medium-fast
11.Renuka Singh Thakur  BowlerRight-HandedRight-arm medium-fast
12.Asha SobhanaBowling All-rounderRight-HandedRight-arm leg-break
13.Radha YadavBowlerRight-HandedLeft-arm-spin  
14.Shreyanka PatilBowling All-rounderRight-HandedRight-arm off-break
15.Sajana SajeevanBatting All-rounderRight-HandedRight-arm off-break