Kallis, Sthalekar, and Abbas inducted into ICC Cricket Hall of Fame

ICC Cricket Hall of Fame

The International Cricket Council (ICC) today inducted three retired greats of the game into the ICC Cricket Hall of Fame during an absorbing show broadcast around the world via ICC digital channels. South Africa’s gritty all-rounder Jacques Kallis and talented Australian World Cup-winning all-rounder Lisa Sthalekar were joined by Zaheer Abbas of Pakistan, a stylish batsman of the 1970s and 80s who was also known as the Asian Bradman.

The show, hosted by commentator Alan Wilkins, featured retired greats Sunil Gavaskar, Melanie Jones and Shaun Pollock as the main guests and had Wasim Akram, Graeme Smith and Alyssa Healy join in to congratulate and appreciate the 2020 inductees.

Kallis is the fourth African player inducted and Zaheer the sixth from Pakistan. Lisa is the 27th from Australia and the ninth woman player in the list, which includes five from Australia. In all, 93 players have been inducted so far under the system, which sees retired players become eligible five years after playing their last international match. 

Some career highlights of the latest inductees

Jacques Kallis – ICC Cricket Hall of Fame

  • The only player to score at least 10,000 runs and take at least 250 wickets in both Test and ODI cricket
  • ICC Player of the Year and ICC Test Player of the year in 2005
  • South Africa’s leading Test run-scorer, and currently third on the all-time list
  • The most capped South African player in both Test and ODI cricket
  • Scored 113 not out in the semi-final and took 5-30 in the final as South Africa won the first ICC Knockout Tournament (later the ICC Champions Trophy) in 1998
  • Won 23 ‘Player of the Match’ awards in Test cricket, more than anyone else
  • Spent 592 days as the No.1 ranked Test batsman (2005-2011)
  • Spent 4028 days as the No.1 ranked Test all-rounder (2000-2013) and a record 493 matches ranked number 1

Lisa Sthalekar – ICC Cricket Hall of Fame

  • Over the course of her career, topped both ODI batting and bowling rankings
  • The first woman to achieve the double of 1,000 runs and 100 wickets in ODI cricket
  • Spent 934 days as the No.1 ranked ODI all-rounder (2007-2010)
  • Part of the Australia teams that won the ICC Women’s World Cup in 2005 and 2013 and ICC Women’s T20 World Cup in 2010 and 2012
  • She won 12 Women’s National Cricket League titles with New South Wales, and was captain for five victories in a row
  • Short-listed for ICC Women’s Cricketer of the Year in both 2007 and 2008 and for ICC Women’s T20I Cricketer of the Year in 2012

Zaheer Abbas – ICC Cricket Hall of Fame

  • The only player from Asia to have scored at least a 100 first-class hundreds
  • Became just the second player to score his hundredth first-class century in a Test Match
  • He scored two centuries in the same first-class match on a record eight occasions
  • On a record four occasions he scored a double-century and a century in the same first-class match
  • The first player to score three successive centuries in ODI cricket
  • Spent 215 days as the No.1 ranked ODI batsman (1983-1984)
  • Captained Pakistan in 14 Test Matches, and only lost one of them
  • Later served as an ICC Match Referee and as ICC President

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *