ICC Awards of the Decade – the winners revealed!

ICC Awards of the Decade

The ICC awards of Decade season is here, and how. For the first time, the International Cricket Council has decided to open up into the workings of the awards and allowed fans to vote for their favorite player. These awards would include the two prestigious awards – Rachel Heyhoe-Flint awards and Sir Garfield Sobers award for the best female and male players respectively.

Apart from these prestigious ICC awards, the players were also in contention for the player of the decade awards in various categories. The awards were given for performances of the players during the decade of (2011-2020). The decade has been truly exceptional for the overarching popularity of T20 International matches and International T20 leagues like the Indian Premier League (IPL) and Big Bash League (BBL).

The awards, therefore, are not merely a culmination of the performances of the past decade but also indicative of the emerging players of the next decade. Here’s a list of the ICC awards categories along with the winners.

Sir Garfield Sobers ICC Awards for ICC Male Cricketer of the Decade

This year the ICC awards was bestowed upon the current Indian captain Virat Kohli. The Indian skipper has had an eventful decade that has seen him rise from a batsman with the promise to lead the Indian side in all three formats of the game. During this period he has scored an astounding 20,396 runs across all the formats with 66 centuries and 94 half-centuries. Apart from this, he has also won 9 ICC awards, the most by any player during this period.

Rachel Heyhoe-Flint Awards for ICC Female Cricketer of the Decade

The Rachel Heyhoe-Flint award was bestowed upon Ellyse Perry who was a clear favourite in the category. The Australian all-rounder had a stellar decade scoring 4,349 runs and taking 213 wickets in all. She was an integral part of the Australian side that won the 2013 ICC Women’s World Cup. Apart from this she was also a part of the ICC Women’s Team that has won the T20 World Cup for 4 consecutive tournaments from 2012-2020.

Single Category ICC Awards

ICC Men’s Test Cricketer of the Decade: Steve Smith.

The Australian skipper received the award for scoring 7,040 runs in 69 tests at a brisk average of 65.79. This mammoth run tally was achieved along with 26 centuries. His consistent form has allowed him to remain a consistent name on the upper echelons of the Test cricketer rankings and has made him the ICC Test player of the year for 2015 and 2017.

Men’s ODI Cricketer of the Decade: Virat Kohli

ICC Women’s ODI Cricketer of the Decade: Ellyse Perry

Men’s T20I Cricketer of the Decade: Rashid Khan.

The bowling sensation from Afghanistan has had a great decade in T20 Internationals specially. During the years under consideration, he has taken 89 wickets at a paltry average of 12.62 and an economy rate of 6.14 runs per over.

Women’s T20I Cricketer of the Decade: Ellyse Perry

ICC Men’s Associate Cricketer of the Decade: Kyle Coetzer

Women’s Associate Cricketer of the Decade: Kathryn Bryce

ICC Spirit of Cricket Award of the Decade: MS Dhoni.

The choice of the former skipper among fans was almost unanimous with the decision being fuelled by the choice that Dhoni had made way back in Trent Bridge in 2011. Dhoni had called back English batsman Ian Bell following a disputed run out.

ICC Men’s Test Team Of The Decade

The test team of the decade for men is as follows:

  1. Ravichandran Ashwin
  2. Alastair Cook
  3. Virat Kohli (Captain)
  4. Kane Williamson
  5. Steve Smith
  6. Kumar Sangakkara (Wicketkeeper)
  7. Ben Stokes
  8. Stuart Board
  9. James Anderson
  10.  Dale Steyn
  11.  David Warner

ICC Men’s ODI Team Of The Decade

The ODI team of the decade for men is as follows:

  1. David Warner
  2. Rohit Sharma
  3. Lasith Malinga
  4. Virat Kohli
  5. MS Dhoni (Wicketkeeper and Captain)
  6. Shakib Al Hasan 
  7. Ben Stokes
  8. Trent Boult
  9. Mitchell Starc
  10. AB de Villiers 
  11. Imran Tahir