Fastest IPL Centuries | Top 5 Fastest Hundred In IPL History

Fastest IPL Centuries

The T20 format of cricket has brought a rapid change in the style of the game. The way games are strategized and formulated now is exceedingly different from how it was done a few decades before. The introduction of the Indian Premier League plays a big role in it. The game of cricket, especially in 20-over formats, has become all about quick runs and smashing big sixes. A speedy century in the early stages of the match gives an edge to the batting side as they hand their opponents a difficult total to beat. The lovers of the game have always been a fan of such swift runs and unimaginable knocks.

Here are the top 5 fastest centuries that have been registered over the years by various players in IPL. These mind-blowing innings are reason enough for people to consider IPL as an incalculable game.

175*(66) Chris Gayle, IPL 2013 

The M.Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bengaluru was witness to Chris Gayle starting his “Gayle-Storm” that completely demolished Pune Warriors India. The West Indian batsman smashed the fastest hundred in IPL coming off just 30 balls. Gayle hit a total of 17 sixes and 13 boundaries. A colossal moment in the match where the spectators would be the ones catching sixes on the stands while the fielders could only watch. Royal Challengers Bangalore registered a feisty team total of 263 runs which is the highest total scored by any team. Pune Warriors were only able to go as far as 133 runs and eventually lost the match, trying to chase the unattainable.

100(37) Yusuf Pathan, IPL 2008

In 2008, Pathan became the fastest batsman to reach the three-figure mark. Although the record was eventually broken by Chris Gayle, he is still the fastest Indian batsman to achieve this feat.

Rajasthan Royals batting line-up looked miserable chasing a heavy total of 213 until Yusuf Pathan dawned on the pitch. 8 sixes and 9 fours in 30 balls saw him bring up both the fastest century as well as the hopes of Royals winning the game. Unfortunately, Pathan had to walk back to the pavilion as soon as he reached his hundred. The Royals scored 208 runs in 20 overs and fell short of 4 runs to win the match. Mumbai Indians who had to undergo this mammoth moment had an easy escape despite scoring a defendable total.

101*(38) David Miller, IPL 2013

David Miller is the third fastest batsman to score a ton in the Indian Premier League. In the same year as Chris Gayle’s 175, the left-handed South African batsman was the one who saved his team from an impasse. Kings Eleven Punjab was struggling to close the gap of a hefty total handed to them by the Royal Challengers Bangalore. It was ultimately David Miller who saved his team from the brink of a loss in just 18 overs.

109*(47) Adam Gilchrist, IPL 2008

Adam Gilchrist also earned himself a name in the list as he struck the three-figure mark in just 42 balls against Mumbai Indians. The Deccan Chargers(DC) batsman and his team who eventually went on to lift the IPL trophy the next season, were chasing an easy total of 155 runs. Gilchrist’s 100 made it a straightforward win for DC that came in just 12 overs into the match.

129*(52) AB De Villiers, IPL 2016

The South African big hitter who would be the most obvious name on the list scored a phenomenal 129 runs off 52 balls against the newest addition in IPL, Gujrat Lions. AB de Villiers’s mind-racking 12 sixes and 10 fours saw him bring up his ton in just 43 balls. Virat Kohli and De Villiers’s longstanding partnership paved the way to Royal Challengers Bangalore’s 248 in 20 overs, the second highest team total in the league. Bangalore was handed an easy win by the Lions as they did not have anyone picking up the baton to play some sturdy knocks while chasing such a big total. RCB won the match by 144 runs.


14 seasons since IPL’s inception, the fans still love to see such gigantic and memorable innings from their favorite players and teams. The biggest league in the country which has never disappointed the lovers of the game will surely bring up more of such epic moments for the fans to savor on.