Dhawan dropped from ODI squad for Sri Lanka series

Dhawan dropped from ODI squad

After the eventful year 2022, when the focus was more on T20s, India shifted its attention to ODI matches in 2023. It is because they are now preparing themselves for Men’s ODI world Cup. However, the 13th edition of the ICC Men’s ODI World cup will be organized in India in October and November 2023. Undeniably, team India will go to any length to ensure they become the champion and get that title. They start their preparation for the big event with a three-match ODI series and a couple of T20s against Sri Lanka. This series will start in the second week of January. After that, they play as many ODIs against Australia in the first quarter. 

Schedule of Sri Lanka vs India ODI Series:

The Sri Lankan cricket team visited India in January 2023. They play three ODIs that will take place on 10, 12, and 15 January. You can see both teams in action at Guwahati, Kolkata, and Thiruvananthapuram. Remember that India’s last ODI series against Sri Lanka was in July 2021. It was when a second-string squad went to Sri Lanka under the leadership of Shikhar Dhawan. After the 18 months gap, the two teams will renew their rivalry. 

Shikhar Dhawan Dropped from Sri Lanka ODI Series Squad:

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) announces the 16-member squad for the ODI series against the 1996 World Cup winners on Tuesday, 27th December 2022. However, the Indian team sprung a few surprises. Some high-profile players were out from the team, including Shikhar Dhawan, Rishabh Pant, Deepak Chahar, and Shardul Thakur. Whereas Sanju Samson is once again overlooked. 

The last ODI assignment of India was against Bangladesh in the first quarter of December 2022. In that series, they get a shocking 1-2 defeat by the host team. Following a setback in Bangladesh, the Indian board announces a powerful squad for the ODI series against Sri Lanka. Rohit Sharma is fit again and joined the team as a captain in the three-match series. Team India now also has a new deputy in all-rounder Hardik Pandya. Remember that Pandiya was included in the squad for the New Zealand and Bangladesh ODIs. Now, he performs his duties as ODI vice-captain in place of KL Rahul. 

List of Changes in India ODI Squad:

Senior opener Dhawan had a very disappointing outing against New Zealand and Bangladesh. Due to this, he is now out of the ODI squad of India for the series against Sri Lanka. Additionally, there is also no place for star stumper Rishabh Pant. He also misses the ODI series after releasing from the squad. Apart from both start players, fast bowling all-rounders Shardul Thakur and Deepak Chahar are absent from the squad. Shahbaz Ahmed, pacer Kuldeep Sen, and batters Rajat Patidar and Rahul Tripathi drop from the ODI squad. After missing the third ODI against Bangladesh due to a thumb injury in the second match, Rohit Sharma is back again. He came back with Hardik Pandya and Suryakumar Yadav, who were rested. Moreover, senior pacer Muhammad Shami, opening batter Shubman Gill and star youngster Arshdeep Singh include in the scheme of things.

Indian Squad for ODIs against Sri Lanka:

The selection committee of BCCI announces the Indian team squad for the upcoming home series of T20 and ODI against Sri Lanka. However, many significant developments have taken place. It will include the absence of wicket-keeper batter Rishabh Pant from both formats. KL Rahul does not include in the T20 team. According to the latest updates, Pant has been asked to report to NCA for a couple of weeks next week. Don’t forget that he has a knee niggle and will undergo strengthening sessions. Unfortunately, Virat Kholi is also not part of the T20 squad in India. It looks like he is resting again. Replacing Kholi, in-form batter Suryakumar Yadav was a vice captain on the T20 squad of the Indian team.

Players included in the Indian squad of the ODI series against Sri Lanka, Rohit Sharma, will perform his team captain duties. The rest of the team includes Shubman Gill, Suryakumar Yadav, KL Rahul, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, Hardik Pandya, Yuzendra Chahal, Ishan Kishan, Washington Sundar, Axar Patel, Muhammad Siraj, Kuldeep Yadav, Arshdeep Singh, Muhammad Shami, and Umran Malik.


Three match ODI series of India against Sri Lanka will be their first assignment of the New Year. India played 3 T20s against the Lankans, followed by three ODIs. One bad news about the Indian team squad is that there is no place for veteran opener Shikhar Dhawan. He drops from the ODI team. The reason is he has been still struggling with form. Rohit Sharma and Virat Kholi also drop from the T20 squad. Both big players will return to national duty for the subsequent ODI series. Meanwhile, left-hand opener Shikhar Dhawan drops from the ODI squad for the Sri Lanka series. He replaces by Shubman Gill.