IPL 2023 Final: CSK wins their fifth IPL title in last ball thriller

CSK wins their fifth IPL title

After 70 matches in the group stage and three playoffs, it is time for the final game between CSK vs GT in the IPL 2023. It has been an extraordinary season. Everyone witnessed joy and despair, fiery innings from the bat, and magic with the ball throughout the season. Gujarat, the defending champions, registered their 2nd IPL final playing spot with an excellent performance from the players. On the other hand, Chennai, the four times winners, fixed their spot by the supremacy of Captain Cool. 

Opening & excitement: 

All the cricket fans eagerly awaited the grand final day of IPL, 28.05.2023, but the weather had another mood. Rain delays the game. The stadium was full of cricket fans on that day, but the play could not be started because of the rainy weather. It was declared that the final match of CSK vs GT will be rescheduled for the next day, 29.05.2023. The stadium was once again decorated for the grand ending day, and approximately 101,566 people were present to cheer their teams to win the title. 

CSK vs GT: Match Higlights:

Devon Conway scored 47 off 25 while Ravindra Jadeja struck an unbeaten 15* off just six as Chennai Super Kings (CSK) beat defending champions Gujarat Titans (GT) by five wickets (DLS Method) on the final delivery of a thriller of a final of IPL 2023 in Ahmedabad. Chasing a revised target of 171 in 15 overs due to rain, Jadeja smashed a 6 and a four off the last 2 balls of the summit clash to clinch a fifth title for the Super Kings.

Regarding how the mega final panned out, skipper Dhoni won the toss and chose the fielding first. Wicketkeeper batter Wriddhiman Saha smashed 54 off 39, while his opening partner Shubman Gill racked up 39 off 20. But GT’s innings were about youngster Sai Sudharsan as he hammered 96 off just 47 with eight fours and six maximums. Captain Hardik Pandya played a cameo of 21* off 12 as the Titans reached a massive total of 214/4 in their allotted 20 overs.

In reply, just when opener Ruturaj Gaikwad hit a boundary off the third delivery of the CSK innings, the heavens opened and caused a long delay. Chasing 171 in the CSK vs GT finale match, New Zealander Devon Conway slammed 47 off just 25 while Ruturaj Gaikwad amassed 26 off 16. Hard-hitter Shivam Dube hit 32* off 21 while Ajinkya Rahane mustered a quickfire 27 off 13. In his last IPL game, Ambati Rayudu struck 19 off just eight.

As mentioned above, with ten needed off the final two balls, Jadeja stunned the Titans by hitting a 6 and a four off the bowling of Mohit Sharma to clinch the title for the Super Kings. With this, CSK has now equaled MI’s record of five IPL trophies. For his crucial 47 runs right at the top of the order, Conway grabbed the Player of the Match award, while Shubman Gill won the Player of the Tournament award for hitting 890 runs.

IPL 2023-Full list of Award Winners:

  • Devon Conway wins the Player of the Match award
  • MS Dhoni wins Catch of the Match award
  • Sai Sudharsan wins Longest Six award
  • Sai Sudharsan wins the Maximum Fours award
  • Ajinkya Rahane wins the Electric Striker of the Match award
  • Sai Sudharsan wins the Most Valuable Asset of the Match award
  • Sai Sudharsan wins the Gamechanger of the Match award
  • Shubman Gill wins Orange Cap (890) award.
  • Mohammad Shami wins Purple Cap (28) award.
  • Ajinkya Rahane wins the Fairplay of the Season award.
  • Rashid Khan wins the Catch of the Season award.
  • Faf du Plessis wins the Longest Six of the Season (115m) award.
  • Shubman Gill wins the Most Fours (84) award.
  • Glenn Maxwell wins the Super Striker of the Season award.
  • Shubman Gill wins the Most Valuable Player of the Season award.
  • Shubman Gill wins the Dream11 Gamechanger of the Season award.
  • Glenn Maxwell wins the Super Striker of the Season award.
  • Yashasvi Jaiswal wins the Emerging Player of the Year award.
  • Eden Gardens and Wankhede Stadium share the Best Venues of the Season award.


However, it was an excellent treat for the Dhoni fans to witness the CSK vs GT finale match on 29th May. Almost the whole country was waiting to see who would lift the trophy, and finally, Chennai Super Kings lifted it for the fifth time in IPL history. In the end, Dhoni assured his fans of his next year’s comeback.