Border-Gavaskar Trophy 2023: All you need to Know

Border-Gavaskar Trophy 2023

The highly anticipated Border-Gavaskar Trophy is only days away, and the excitement and enthusiasm surrounding it couldn’t have been greater. With a possible WTC final between the same two teams on the horizon, this series will serve an even bigger reason than originally thought. The stakes are always high when India and Australia compete, but the intensity of this series has been red hot lately. Before we get into all the action, here are all the important logs you need to know.

India will host Australia for the 4-match Border-Gavaskar Trophy in February-March 2023. This series is especially crucial for the Indian team as their qualification to the WTC Finals depends on the outcome of this series.

Australia and India are currently ranked 1st and 2nd respectively in the ICC Test Team Rankings and thus their match is expected to be a blockbuster. The first test is scheduled for February 9 in Nagpur.

India and Australia have met in 50 test matches (12 series) between 1947 and 1992. In 1992, the trophy was named ‘Border Gavaskar’ after two legends of these two teams, Allan Border and Sunil Gavaskar. The first Border-Gavaskar Trophy was played in 1996-97.

India have won their last three Border-Gavaskar trophies, with their last series win coming in Australia in 2020-21.

While Australia have named a full squad for the Test series against India, the hosts have suffered a number of injury setbacks and may not be able to field their best team in all 4 matches.

Squads for Border-Gavaskar Trophy 2023

India (for first two Tests) – Rohit Sharma (captain), KL Rahul (vc), Shubman Gill, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, KS Bharat (wk), Ishan Kishan (wk), R. Ashwin, Axar Patel, Kuldeep Yadav, Ravindra Jadeja, Mohammad Shami, Mohammed Siraj, Umesh Yadav, Jaydev Unadkat, Suryakumar Yadav.

Australia – Pat Cummins (captain), Ashton Agar, Scott Boland, Alex Carey (wk), Cameron Green, Peter Handscomb, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Usman Khawaja, Marnus Labuschagne, Nathan Lyon, Lance Morris, Todd Murphy, Matthew Renshaw, Steve Smith (vc), Mitchell Starc, Mitchell Swepson, David Warner.

Series of results so far

India and Australia have played 27 test matches against each other since their first meeting in 1947–48. Australia has a slight lead with 12 series wins while India has won 10 series. Five series ended in a draw.

Of these, 14 Test series have been played in India, where the home team has an 8-4 lead, with two series ending in a draw.

Eight of these 14 series played in India have been played for the Border-Gavaskar Trophy where the Indian team dominates with a 7-1 lead along with a 16-5 win-loss record in 25 Tests in India.

Australia has only won one Border-Gavaskar Trophy, in 2004-05, where the ‘Mighty Australians’ won 2-1. In the last three test series in India, the home side have won all three Border-Gavaskar trophies.

India vs Australia head-to-head in tests

  • Total – 102
  • Indian – 30
  • Australian – 43
  • Drawn – 28
  • Tied – 1

The last Border-Gavaskar Trophy was played in Australia in 2020-21 and it was an epic series, dubbed by many the ‘Best Test series’ of this century. After India were knocked out by just 36 runs in the first Test, losing most of their regulars, a young and inexperienced Indian team bounced back with a win in Melbourne, a hard-fought draw in Sydney and an incredible record. breaking victory over the Gabba.

However, Gabba’s hero Rishabh Pant will not be a part of the Indian team at the upcoming Border-Gavaskar Trophy due to a car accident.

Most Runs

  • Sachin Tendulkar: 3262
  • Ricky Ponting: 2555
  • VVS Laxman: 2434

High Scores

  • Michael Clarke: 329*
  • VVS Laxman: 281
  • Ricky Ponting: 257

Most 100s

  • Sachin Tendulcar: 9
  • Steve Smith: 9
  • Ricky Ponting: 8

Most 50

  • Sachin Tendulcar: 25
  • Ricky Ponting: 20
  • VVS Laxman: 18

Most runs in a series

  • Steve Smith: 769 in 2014/15
  • Ricky Ponting: 706 in 2003/4
  • Virat Kohli: 692 in 2014/15

Most ducks

  • Ishan Sharma: 12
  • Ajit Agarkar: 8
  • Zaheer Khan: 7

Most Wickets

  • Anil Kumble: 111
  • Harbhajan Singh: 95
  • Nathan Lyon: 94

Most 5-wicket hauls

  • Ringkumble: 10
  • Harbhajan Singh: 7
  • Nathan Lyons: 7

Most 10-wicket hauls

  • Harbhajan Singh: 3
  • Ringkumble: 2
  • Creza: 1

The best bowling figures

  • Harbhajan Singh: 15 wickets, 217 runs, 80.1 overs
  • Anil Kumble: 13 wickets, 181 runs, 64.3 overs
  • Harbhajan Singh: 13 wickets, 196 runs, 68.2 overs

Best economy

  • Ravindra Jadeja: 2.22
  • Glenn McGrath: 2.23
  • Steve O’Keefe: 2.46

Most wickets in series

  • Harbhajan Singh: 32 in 2000/1
  • Ravichandran Ashwin: 29 in 2012/13
  • Hilfenhaus: 27 in 2011/12

Highest Totals

  • India: 705/7 (D)
  • Australia: 659/4 (D)
  • India: 657/7 (D)

Lowest totals

  • India: 36
  • Australia: 93
  • India: 104

Head to head details

  • Games played: 102
  • Matches won by India: 30
  • Matches won by Australia: 43
  • Draw: 28
  • Draw: 1

What was the result of the three previous editions?

  • 2016-17 (played in India) – India won
  • 2018-19 (played in Australia) – India won
  • 2020-21 (played in Australia) – India won

The first match will take place in Nagpur and will start on February 9.