New Zealand vs India 1st T20 Preview

New Zealand vs India 1st T20 Preview: India wrapped up the ODI series 4-1 with a 35-run victory in the fifth and final game at the Westpac Stadium in Wellington.

After being downed in the one-dayers, New Zealand will look to hit back hard in the first T20 international which will be played at the same venue.

The opening game of the three-match T20I series will be played on February 6 with live telecast scheduled to begin at 8 PM local time

NZ vs IND, 1st T20: Where to Watch/Live Streaming

TV channels: Star Sports, Sky Sports Cricket, Fox Sports, Sky Sport NZ, SuperSport, OSN Sports Cricket HD, Gazi TV

Live Streaming: CrickeX

Toss Prediction

The Westpac Stadium has hosted nine T20 internationals till date out of which seven have been won by the side bowling first. And also since the wicket is not expected to change much after the first period of play, the toss-winning captain will probably elect to field first.

New Zealand Team News & Playing 11

New Zealand have been dealt a big  blow ahead of the T20I series with opening batsman Martin Guptill being ruled out of the entire series due to a back injury. Allrounder James Neesham has been added to the squad as a replacement for Guptill.

Fast bowler Blair Tickner, wicketkeeper Tim Seifert and allrounders Daryl Mitchell and Scott Kuggeleijn are the fresh faces that have been included by the hosts in their T20 squad

New Zealand Predicted Playing 11

  • Colin Munro, Kane Williamson (c), Ross Taylor, Tim Seifert (wk), James Neesham, Colin de Grandhomme, Doug Bracewell, Scott Kuggeleijn, Ish Sodhi, Lockie Ferguson, Tim Southee

India Team News & Playing 11

Rohit Sharma will continue to remain in charge of the Indian team in the absence of regular skipper Virat Kohli who flew back home after the third one-day international.

Wicketkeeper Rishabh Pant has been picked for the T20I series along with all rounder Krunal Pandya and pace bowler Siddarth Kaul. Vijay Shankar and Shubman Gill, who made his international debut in the fourth ODI, have been retained.

India Predicted Playing 11

  • Rohit Sharma (c), Shikhar Dhawan, Rishabh Pant, MS Dhoni (wk), Dinesh Karthik, Krunal Pandya/Kedar Jadhav, Hardik Pandya, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Khaleel Ahmed/Siddarth Kaul, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav

NZ vs IND Head to Head

New Zealand and India have played eight T20 internationals against each other with the former leading the scoreline 6-2.

The two countries have faced each other just once at the Westpac Stadium in the twenty-over format. That game was played back in February 2009 and New Zealand emerged victorious by five wickets. India scored 149/6 after being asked to bat first and then the hosts chased down that total on the final ball of the match.

Matches Played: 8; New Zealand Won: 6; India Won: 2

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *