Delhi Capitals Playing XI

Delhi Capitals Predicted Playing XI: CrickeX presents before you CSK playing XI for IPL 2019.

Delhi Capitals also fall in the category of franchises to have not won an Indian Premier League title despite playing each season since its start in 2008.

While Kings XI reached the finals of the tournament in 2014, the last time Capitals entered the knockout stage was in 2012. Having reached the Top Four in 2008, 2009 and 2012, the then Daredevils had a productive three out of first five IPL seasons.

That being said, what happened after 2012 is not hidden from anyone. In the next six IPL seasons, Delhi finished in the bottom two of the point table four times. With a refurbished name this year, Delhi Capitals would be hoping to turn the table in IPL 12.

In and before the IPL auction this year, Capitals made some wise decisions. While they have missed out on a few areas, DC would be looking to make the best of their resources from March 23.

Delhi Capitals Full Squad for IPL 2019

Delhi Capitals Full Squad for IPL 2019


From Gautam Gambhir to Jason Roy to Glenn Maxwell, Delhi’s opening batsmen from last season are not even a part of their squad for IPL 2019. While other openers in Colin Munro and Prithvi Shaw have been retained, the biggest development at the top of the order is the inclusion of India opening batsman Shikhar Dhawan.

Delhi Capitals are most likely to send Dhawan and Shaw to face the new ball. Shaw, who made his IPL debut last year, scored a couple of half-centuries and scored runs at a strike rate of 153.12. Having also made his national debut now, the 19-year old right-hand batsman will take the field as a more confident cricketer.

Shreyas Iyer, who was announced the captain midway last year, will continue to stand tall on the fronts. At No. 3, he will have a crucial role to play for Capitals.


ICC’s Emerging Cricketer of the Year Rishabh Pant is currently one of the most sought-after T20 batsmen in the nation. Having ended the last season as its second-highest run-scorer, one expects him to continue belting the bowlers in IPL 2019.

Having played three games for Delhi in 2011, this will be Colin Ingram’s second stint in the IPL, albeit with the same franchise. Expected to bat at No. 5, Ingram will have to bat at a position lower than what he is currently batting at for Adelaide Strikers in the Big Bash League. Capitals would be wanting to count on his rich wealth of experience of playing in T20 leagues around the world.

Given the lack of bowling options in their top-order, Delhi Capitals would be looking to play all-rounders at No. 6 and No. 7. In Chris Morris and Axar Patel, Delhi have that base covered. It’s just that they would want both these players to play with more responsibility in both the divisions.


With Axar Patel as the left-arm spinner, Delhi Capitals’ spin-bowling department will be bolstered by the presence of T20 prodigy Sandeep Lamichhane. The presence of Lamichhane is likely to be confuse the team management regarding the second spinner.

While Amit Mishra will bring alongside him a lot of experience, his presence will constitute for three spinners who bring the ball into the left-handed batsman. If that does concern the Capitals, they might look at giving Jalaj Saxena an IPL debut in Mishra’s place.

Among the Indian fast bowlers, one out of Ishant Sharma and Harshal Patel will be favoured into the playing XI. The latter’s better bowling numbers and skills with the bat should press his case.

The spot for their overseas fast bowler will be contested between New Zealand’s Trent Boult and South Africa’s Kagiso Rabada. Going by the numbers, Rabada betters Boult in the T20 format and might just be looked ahead of the Kiwi spearhead. Having said that, Delhi Capitals could opt for Boult in a bid to include variance in their bowling department.

Delhi Capitals Predicted Playing XI for IPL 2019

1) Shikhar Dhawan 2) Prithvi Shaw 3) Shreyas Iyer (c) 4) Rishabh Pant (wk) 5) Colin Ingram 6) Chris Morris 7) Axar Patel 8) Harshal Patel 9) Kagiso Rabasa 10) Amit Mishra 11) Sandeep Lamichhane

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *