BCCI announces teams for Women’s T20 Challenge

Women’s T20 Challenge: Harmanpreet Kaur, Smrithi Mandhana and Mithali Raj will lead the Supernovas, Trailblazers and Velocity respectively in the upcoming Women’s T20 Challenge to be played between May 6th and May 11th at the SawaiMansingh Stadium, Jaipur.

The tournament will comprise of the Supernovas, Trailblazers and Velocity – all of whom will play each other before the two teams with the most points compete in the final. While the full list of players is yet to be confirmed, Smriti Mandhana, Mithali Raj and Harmanpreet Kaur are expected to lead the three sides.

“The teams will comprise current and future stars of Indian cricket playing alongside a selection of the world’s best players,” the BCCI said in a release. “The combined strength of talent on display will showcase the quality of women’s cricket.”

The BCCI had experimented with Women’s T20 exhibition match that was played last year prior to the first play-off game of the men’s IPL at the Wankhede stadium in Mumbai. The Mandhana-led Trailblazers had clashed with the Harmanpreet-led Supernovas with the latter winning by three wickets in a last ball thriller.

Elite women cricketers such as Ellyse Perry, Alyssa Healy, Suzie Bates, Meg Lanning and Sophie Devine had taken part in the match last time around.

The full schedule for the Women’s T20 Challenge 2019 is as follows:

  • May 6 – Supernovas vs Trailblazers
  • May 8 – Trailblazers vs Velocity
  • May 9 – Supernovas vs Velocity
  • May 11 – Final

All matches will be telecasted live on Star Sports Network.

The full squads for the Women’s T20 Challenge are as follows: –



Harmanpreet Kaur (c)Smriti Mandhana (c)Mithali Raj (c)
Anuja PatilBharti Fulmali*Amelia Kerr (New Zealand)
Arundhati ReddyDayalan Hemalatha*Danielle Wyatt (England
*Chamari Athapaththu (Sri Lanka)Deepti SharmaDevika Vaidya
Jemimah RodriguesHarleen DeolEkta Bisht
*Lea Tahuhu (New Zealand)Jhulan Goswami*Hayley Matthews (West Indies)
Mansi JoshiR. Kalpana (wk)*Jahanara Alam (Bangladesh)
*Natalie Sciver (England)Rajeshwari GayakwadKomal Zhanzad
Poonam Yadav*Shakera Selman (West Indies)Shafali Verma
Priya Punia*Sophie Ecclestone (England)Shikha Pandey
Radha P Yadav*Stafanie Taylor (West Indies)Sushma Verma (wk)
*Sophie Devine (New Zealand)*Suzie Bates (New Zealand)Sushree DibyadarshiniSushree Dibyadarshini
Taniya Bhatia (wk)Jasia AkhtarVeda Krishnamurthy
Coach – WV RamanCoach -Biju GeorgeCoach – Mamta Maben
*Overseas player

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *