1000+ players register for IPL 2019 auction

1000+ players register for IPL 2019 auction: The first list of player registration for IPL 2019 auction has been made public.

With the IPL 2019 auction less than a couple of weeks from now, the first list of player registration has been made public. The list comprises of a whopping 1,003 cricketers, including 232 overseas cricketers.

The list also includes 800 uncapped cricketers, including 746 from India. Despite these massive numbers, a maximum of 70 spots will be up for grabs in the upcoming auction of the IPL.

There is a cricketer each from associate nations such as Hong Kong, Ireland, Netherlands and USA. As far as the Test playing nations are concerned, South Africa have the maximum number of players (59), followed by Australia (35), Windies (33) and Afghanistan (27). With the last name contributing 27 cricketers, it speaks highly about the development of the game in their country.

Post the release of the first list, the onus is now on the franchises to provide with the names they want to be added to the pool of players. The deadline for the same being December 7. A final list of players for the auction will be made after December 10, after franchises send a list of players they want in the auction pool.

Among the players who have put a top base price (INR 2 crore) on themselves are Corey Anderson, Sam Curran, Colin Ingram, Lasith Malinga, Shaun Marsh, Angelo Mathews, Brendon McCullum, D’Arcy Short and Chris Woakes.

In what has come as a surprise for many people, there is no Indian player in the group of players with a maximum base price.

With a base price of INR 1.5 crore, Jaydev Unadkat has the maximum base price for an Indian player. A base price of INR 1 crore sees Axar Patel, Wriddhiman Saha, Mohammad Shami and Yuvraj Singh below Unadkat. Ishant Sharma, who is currently playing in the first Test against Australia, has fixed a base price of INR 75 lakh.

It is worth mentioning that in a bid to manage their workload ahead of ICC Cricket World Cup 2019, Australian duo of Aaron Finch and Glenn Maxwell has opted to skip the upcoming season of IPL.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *